HMS Warrior and HMS Victory in Portsmouth

One for the History and Boat-Lovers!

I know one or two people who could probably do a better job to this topic than me, but I’ll do my best.

Portsmouth, located in Hampshire, England, is the home of two very cool old ships.

P1020419_2

The HMS Warrior: an armoured frigate that never saw real action since it was rendered obsolete pretty much as soon as it was finished being built. Not great for the British Navy in the 1800’s, but great for history nerds and/or maritime enthusiasts! It’s in almost PERFECT condition.

P1020422_2

If I knew stuff about this stuff, then I could tell you more stuff.

If I knew stuff about this stuff, then I could tell you more stuff.

As far as I know, the brass lines on the deck are like tracks for the cannons! Pretty cool!

As far as I know, the brass lines on the deck are like tracks for the cannons! Pretty cool!

Staring down the barrel of the gun... no fear!

Staring down the barrel of the gun… no fear!

This ship is big. I'm not sure how big, but too big for me to steer on my own!

This ship is big. I’m not sure how big, but too big for me to steer on my own!

The HMS Victory: a 104-gun ship of the line – the stuff history and fantasy is made of! Currently in dry dock, this is bar far the coolest ship (I believe the condition of this beauty is such that it would collapse under its own weight if ever again it was put to sail).

P1020478_2

Dry docks are seriously the coolest things!!

Dry docks are seriously the coolest things!!

You can’t talk about the Victory without mentioning Lord Nelson. Nelson commanded aboard the Victory at the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805, and was famously shot mid-battle. When he died, his crew preserved his body for transportation back to England by placing him in a barrel of some kind of alcohol. There’s a nasty rumour (or perhaps it’s touching if you’re not disturbed by these things), that the crew all had a toast to Nelson and drank the liquor their Lord’s body rested in. Gross.

P1020487_2

P1020488_2

I’m not sure what else Portsmouth has to offer, but if you like boats, it’s certainly worth a quick visit!

About amblingalana

Just a Canadian girl who abandoned British Columbia to try her luck in Bonnie Scotland. Feminist, long-term travel enthusiast, aspiring writer.

Leave a Reply

