Christmas Alone… Almost

Last time, I discussed the reasons that led me to head to Glasgow for Christmas, and how I was saved from loneliness by Canadian Amber and Hamish the cat.

On the bus ride to Glasgow, I reflected on how unlike me this was. I consider myself a spontaneous person, but only to a point – normally when strangers and inter-city travel are involved, I’m usually turned off. But ultimately, the thought of being well and truly alone on Christmas day (both my flatmates were away) was too pathetic to face.

So, with a backpack full of ingredients for mulled wine, I arrived at Glasgow Buchanan Bus Station to meet Canadian Amber. Being fair-skinned and ginger, Canadian Amber is the most Scottish looking Canadian I’ve ever met. She is an incredibly interesting person, having lived in small-town Vancouver Island, Victoria, Northern Canada (ew) and Los Angeles (while working in the film industry). She now lives in Glasgow while getting her Master’s Degree. She is also unfailingly kind and eccentric.

Hamish is a borderline alcoholic

Hamish is a borderline alcoholic

As we bussed to Paisley, she warned me that it had the reputation for being a rough neighbourhood. I must admit, I wasn’t entirely comfortable with this. Someone, however, made everything better. Ladies and Gentlemen, Hamish the cat!

On Christmas morning, I helped Hamish open his many gifts.

Canadian Amber and her kitteh!

Canadian Amber and her kitteh!

P1080679P1080672

Canadian Amber and I had homemade eggs benedict for breakfast, then went for a walk around Paisley. No busses were running, almost nothing was open. The sun was shining and the streets were deserted.

P1080699

We explored Paisley in almost complete solitude – so surreal!

A cool church in the sunset light

A cool church in the sunset light

P1080694

Paisley Abbey

Paisley Abbey

Paisley Abbey gargoyles. Can you spot the one that looks like an Alien chest-burster?

Paisley Abbey gargoyles. Can you spot the one that looks like an Alien chest-burster?

Canadian Amber and I made a delicious poor-man’s Christmas dinner that evening and stayed up way too late drinking various kinds of alcohol and torturing Hamish.

P1080711

He did not have the Christmas spirit

He did not have the Christmas spirit

When I went home the next morning, I thought about what kind of person it takes to invite a stranger into their home on Christmas day. I was very appreciative to get a dose of familiar Canadian hospitality for the holidays!

About amblingalana

Just a Canadian girl who abandoned British Columbia to try her luck in Bonnie Scotland. Feminist, long-term travel enthusiast, aspiring writer.

2 responses to “Christmas Alone… Almost

  1. Pingback: Holiday Fun Abroad | Ambling Alana

  2. Excellent story. Hope it works out for me too. I’m heading to Glasgow for uni this fall, from Toronto… wish me as much luck as you have, please!

Leave a Reply

